News Articles  

News Articles


News and Current Events in the Balkan States

News Articles
Real Estate
 • Alpine States
 • Balkan States
 • Baltic States
 • Benelux States
 • Caucasus Region
 • Eastern Europe
 • France
 • Germany
 • Greece
 • Iberian States
 • Ireland
 • Italy
 • Russia
 • Scandinavia
 • United Kingdom
North America
South America


Warning: include( [function.include]: failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 500 Internal Server Error in /home/admin10/domains/ on line 51

Warning: include() [function.include]: Failed opening '' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/lib/php:/php/includes') in /home/admin10/domains/ on line 51
Serbia map, showing Belgrade (Beograd), the Serbian capital, and portions of other Balkan countries
Greece map, showing Athens, the capital city, and other Greek cities

Facts about The Balkans

The Balkan States consist of Albania, Bosnia, Bulgaria, and Croatia as well as Greece, Macedonia, Montenegro, and Serbia.  Additional news and information about these Balkan countries can be found on the official government websites highlighted below.

The Republic of Albania's capital city is Tirana, and its currency is the Lek.  Albanian is the primary language used in Albania, and in 2007, the country's estimated population was 3,601,000.

Bosnia and Herzegovina's capital city is Sarajevo, and its currency is the Konvertible Marka.  Bosnian, Serbian, and Croatian are the primary languages used in Bosnia and Herzegovina, and in 2007, the country's estimated population was 4,552,000.

The Republic of Bulgaria's capital city is Sofia, and its currency is the Lev.  Bulgarian is the primary language used in Bulgaria, and in 2007, the nation's estimated population was 7,323,000.

The Republic of Croatia's capital city is Zagreb, and its currency is the Kuna.  Croatian is the nation's main language, and in 2007, Croatia's estimated population was 4,493,000.

The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia's capital city is Skopje, and its currency is the Denar.  Macedonian and Albanian are the country's primary languages, and in 2007, the estimated population of Macedonia was 2,056,000.

The Republic of Montenegro's capital cities are Podgorica and Cetinje, and its currency is the Euro.  Montenegrin is the official language of Montenegro, and the nation's estimated population in 2007 was 685,000.

Serbia's capital city is Belgrade, and its national currency is the Dinar.  Serbian is the official language of Serbia, and in 2007, the country's estimated population was 10,150,000.

The Hellenic Republic, commonly known as Greece, is also one of the Baltic States.  Please visit the Greece News page for more extensive news about the nation of Greece.

Copyright © 2008-2017  All rights reserved.
About Us.

News Articles about the Balkan States of Europe